Michele Roberts – The Walworth Beauty 

CroppedImage680680-Michele-Roberts-c-Viv-Pegram

Saturday 13 May

Whitstable Castle

12.30pm-1.30pm, £8.50

From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate Atkinson.

The Walworth Beauty is a haunting tale of desire and exploitation, isolation and loss. As the entwined stories unfold, alive with the sensations of London past and present, two eras brush against each other rendered in immediate, intoxicating prose.

Michele Roberts is author of ‘The Looking Glass’ and ‘Daughters of the House’, which won the WHSmith Literary Award and shortlisted for the Booker Prize. ‘Ignorance’ was longlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction, and ‘Paper Houses’ was Radio 4′s Book of the Week. She is Professor of Creative Writing at the University of East Anglia.

 

Share This:



Comments are closed.